Lessons in Lent: Introduction

I have always thought 1 Corinthians 12 possessed a profound challenge that goes largely ignored in the Church. While the body is diverse, most of the spokesmen, preachers, speakers, writers, and teachers are one part of the body. This makes sense, as the gift of teaching propels people to enjoy and excel in those roles. A few months ago I was spending a weekend with some close friends and my friend introduced this “forced sharing” time where each couple had to speak about their joys, concerns, prayers requests and spiritual update on their lives. I felt strange; the entire situation seemed inorganic. I like to flow with conversation, respond with germane insight, stories and jokes – I felt hampered by the structure. Later, I asked my friend why he instituted so many regulations for our time when we never have a problem getting to the depth of conversation reserved for close friends. He said that his wife who is quiet and somewhat introverted never was able to get a word in edgewise when we just let the conversation run. I know this is shocking, that someone could have trouble talking while I – Tim Latham – am talking. For those of you who don’t know me, I am occasionally loud and love the sound of my own voice and genuinely excited to hear what comes out when I start espousing a theory that I crafted concurrently with the articulation. This “forced sharing” allowed me to hear wisdom from the people whom don’t often share their wisdom.

This is my hope for the blog.  I am excited for this opportunity as we will engage with other parts of the Chapel body for instruction and inspiration. Each day, Monday through Saturday, one congregant will share devotion via this blog. Each of the six congregants has a unique perspective and I believe that if we diversify our digestion of dialogue, we will be better equipped to put Jesus’ words into practice as we continue to strive forward as His Church. These men and women are in your small groups, they volunteer with your children, they work in hospitals, Colleges and Hair Salons. They sit in the balcony, the mezzanine and the café. They are fathers, mothers, husbands, wives and overachieving William & Mary sophomores (sorry Isaiah). Please begin your own devotional journey this Lent and allow the Chapel 6 entertain and edify as they share the Lessons they are learning this Lent.

Tim Latham

3 comments

  1. I have not been one to “honor” lent before but have decided that during this lenton season I want to spend a deeper time in God’s word. I look forward to following the “blog” in this busy time. I found what I wanted to spend day one on in one of my devotionals. I took a deeper look at 1 Cor. 1:18-25 to see how I can no longer question if God called me to be His. I did some writing on this and pray to continue with different scripture each day. Inspire me….I think perhaps in the morning I shall look at 1 Cor. 12.

  2. I have not “honored” the lenton season in the past but have decided that this season I would like to go deeper into God’s Word. I was inspired this morning by one of my devotionals to take a deeper look at 1 Cor. 1:18-25 discovering that I can no longer debate if I am truly called by God. I look forward to following this blog and learning more. I hunger to be closer to God’s Word. Inspire me…..I think tomorrow I may look into 1 Cor. 12. Thanks for the blog and the Ash Wednesday service.

Leave a Reply

