God: On Purpose

If there is anything I have learned in the past year, it is that God truly acts out of purpose. I know that any Christian should “know” that, but I feel like so many times in our society we end up preaching truths that we believe to be true, but haven’t really experienced for ourselves. After this most recent year of life, I have come to begin to really know the weight of this truth, and the full picture of the Bible further affirms that truth. During this season of Lent I have been reading N.T. Wright’s Lent for Everyone: Matthew (Year A). I really love what his point about how all of the ancient stories, such as the prophecies, point to the fact that Jesus is coming.

Last summer I was blessed to be able to get a copy of Dick Woodward’s Bible survey called the Mini Bible College (thanks Glenn Duff and Mr. Templeton). I am very, very slowly BUT surely working my way through the MBC, but it has already opened my eyes to so many truths and connections in the Bible and I’m only in Leviticus. Perhaps the greatest truth is that the entire Bible, especially the Old Testament, is relevant to life today. We can clearly see that the New Testament, as well as the prophecies is about Jesus Christ. What I think I along with many other Believers fail to see is that the narrative of the Old Testament can be summed up in one message: Jesus is Coming. This is the truth we hold on even still today. It is part of our anchor of hope, and we must know and have faith that we do not hope in vain.

Leave a Reply

