Saturday Post

 

Strangely, the series of events leading up to Jesus’ crucifixion is when I feel like I can relate to Jesus the most, especially in the Garden of Gethsemane. Maybe some of you all reading this blog feel the same way. I’m not even sure if I should feel like I can relate to Jesus Christ, but it is hard not to when I read His words while He is praying to God the Father. He said, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me…My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will” (Matt. 26:38-39). I think all of us can say that we have felt like this at some point or another. I experienced feelings like this on Thursday when I got an email from my boss asking if anyone could come in and work on Thursday evening. I was the only one who could, though nothing in me wanted to work on a Thursday night when I usually spend that time with my friends, but I was available, so I worked. All that to say, as Followers of God, we will frequently be called to things we will not feel comfortable doing just like Jesus it seems. Seeing Jesus feel overwhelmed and praying to God for comfort is a perfect example for us to follow in times of distress. It is comforting to know that it is okay to feel overwhelmed at times, and to know that we have a God who will hear our cry. We have a God who does not only hear our cry, but also answers.

He answered our soul’s cry for love in a big way. I have never in my life connected the truth of being crucified with Christ to the actual crucifixion of Christ and putting myself in that death with Him. It makes so much sense though. It reminds me of when Jesus called the twelve disciples. The disciples dropped everything from their normal lives and followed Jesus for the rest of their life, except Judas. In the same way, when we follow Christ we have to leave our sinful lives behind everyday. We must accept the purpose and mission that God has for us and follow it with joy and peace. If we are following Christ, we must fight to realize that our sinful nature died with Jesus on the cross and we live in Him and He in us.

One comment

  1. Anytime our comfort zone is subjected to adjustment it causes discomfort. This is nothing compared to what our Lord went through. A momentary reflection to our faith should be all we need to get by. May God continue to shine in your life son. Love ya!!!!!

Leave a Reply

